1. Minecraft Middle Earth is a Minecraft community that recreates the world described by JRR Tolkien and his writings. Everyone can participate in organized events in which we collaborate to create major landmarks, terrain, caves, castles, towns, farms and more.

    To get started, visit The New Player Guide
    Dismiss Notice

Issues connecting to mcmiddleearth.com (Can't resolve hostname)

Discussion in 'Get Help' started by Finrod_Amandil, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. Finrod_Amandil

    Finrod_Amandil Head Designer
    Staff Member Head Designer Designer Donor Media Team

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    5,781
    Dear devs and @q220

    Since a few days (less than a week i think) I'm very often having problems to connect to servers, forums and dynmap. This has never occurred before. The issues are irregularily appearing; it's even possible that Build server is accessible while Freebuild is not; mostly its resolved automatically after a short time (its nevertheless annoying).

    Internet connection is fine; all other websites are accessible as usual.

    Was anything mcmiddleearth-side changed and/or is anyone getting the same issue?

    Screens:
    Server list:
    5vcb34.jpg

    Trying to access build.mcmiddleearth.com via Direct Connect:
    16jq1y9.jpg

    Error page for Forums and Dynmap (with translations of german texts)
    692rew.jpg

    Config:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    + Google Chrome

    Minecraft 1.7.10
    + Forge; JourneyMap Mod, Shaders Mod, Optifine
    + Liteloader; daflight
     

    Attached Files:

    gigo09 likes this.
  2. q220

    q220 Eru Iluvatar
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    1,824
    Looks like your isp domain name servers are very rubbish in resolving hostnames, can be because they are working on some of their services. I advise switching to Google Public DNS https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    It should properly resolve the hostname again then, otherwise there might be a program that prevents you from sending a resolve request.
     
  3. Finrod_Amandil

    Finrod_Amandil Head Designer
    Staff Member Head Designer Designer Donor Media Team

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    5,781
    Alright, thx very much for the prompt solution; let's see if it works :)
     
  4. q220

    q220 Eru Iluvatar
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    1,824
    Did this work for you?
     
  5. Finrod_Amandil

    Finrod_Amandil Head Designer
    Staff Member Head Designer Designer Donor Media Team

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    5,781
    Hard to tell yet, until now everything is working fine, but it could get worse any moment; but I assume it did work. Thx for the help again ;)
     
  6. Dallen

    Dallen Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    761
    Another solution is to get the IPs for the servers and connect to them. 'ping <server name>' will give you the ip on both unix and windows. Best of luck. (Google will be much easier though)