• Welcome to MCME!

    Minecraft Middle Earth is a Minecraft community that recreates the world described by JRR Tolkien and his writings. Everyone can participate in organized events in which we collaborate to create major landmarks, terrain, caves, castles, towns, farms and more.

    To get started, visit The New Player Guide

    Joining the server

    Joining the server can be done straight away, but you will have to pass the New Player Quiz. Use the The New Player Guide to get acquainted with our community.

    IP: build.mcmiddleearth.com

Subdivisions of Elves


Head of Plugin Development
Staff member
Quendi is the name for all the elves as a whole. The Eldar are the elves who began the Great Journey from Cuiviénen to Valinor (Vanyar, Noldor and Teleri). Those who stayed in Cuiviénen are called Avari.
Vanyar and Noldor all completed the journey and saw the light of the trees. Thus they are called Calaquendi (light elves).
Some of the Teleri also went to Valinor during the Years of the Trees and are counted among the Calaquendi (Olwe and his folk who lived in Alqualonde).
Another part of the Teleri stayed in Beleriand and never saw the Two Trees. They are the Sindar (grey elves) and Olwe's brother Elwe (Thingol) was their king.
Other Teleri left the Great Journey even earlier at the east side of the Misty Mountains. Those are called Nandor. Some of them later came to Beleriand and were named Laiquendi (green elves of Ossiriand). All Teleri who never saw the light of the trees are also called Úmanyar
All elves who didn't came to Valinor during the Years of the Trees are called Moriquendi (dark elves).