• Welcome to MCME!

Minecraft Middle Earth is a Minecraft community that recreates the world described by JRR Tolkien and his writings. Everyone can participate in organized events in which we collaborate to create major landmarks, terrain, caves, castles, towns, farms and more.

To get started, visit The New Player Guide

Joining the server

Joining the server can be done straight away, but you will have to pass the New Player Quiz. Use the The New Player Guide to get acquainted with our community.

IP: build.mcmiddleearth.com

The 3 Field System

QuantaCube

Builds diagonally
Commoner
Credits
XP
I'm in the process of developing a farm realism guide, although there are some things that I believe are of upmost importance so I am making a quick post just to put out some information.
I am by no means an expert, so if I have said incorrect information please make a reply and I will alter the information!

What is the 3 Field system?
It has been decided that the farms of middle earth are going to use the 3-field system- which is a system of crop rotation to keep farms fertile and help survive hard winters, developed through the later middle ages.

Here is the basic layout of a farm/village using the 3 field system:
Three_Field_System.svg

As can be seen: A farm (Usually 1 communal farm per town) generally consists of 3 fields, one of wheat or rye, one of legumes or oats, and one of fallows (empty farmland for grazing). Each year these fields would be rotated, although due the static time of the server, although the server does take place in Autumn, so more can be stated.
As it is during Autumn, the field of wheat would be either in the process of being planted/ very recently planted, the legumes would have been recently harvested , and the fallows would be fallows.

Farm size and Structure